Wednesday, September 24, 2008

7 US states and 4 Canadian provinces have plan to cut emissions

Western Climate Initiative

from their website:

"was created to identify, evaluate and implement collective and cooperative ways to reduce greenhouse gases in the region, focusing on a market-based cap-and-trade system".

Member states (20 percent of the U.S. economy): Arizona, California, Montana, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah and Washington.

Member provinces (70 percent of Canadian economy): British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

"This is an important road map for what will be the most comprehensive climate program in North America," said California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger.

"We're sending a strong message to our federal governments that states and provinces are moving forward in the absence of federal action, and we're setting the stage for national programs that are just as aggressive" said California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger


To read the full proposal from the Western Climate Initiative go to:

No comments: